Coverart for item
The Resource Airtight, David Rosenfelt, (text large print)

Airtight, David Rosenfelt, (text large print)

Label
Airtight
Title
Airtight
Statement of responsibility
David Rosenfelt
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Rendered a public hero when he is forced to kill a chief suspect in the murder of a high-profile judge, New Jersey police officer Luke Somers is targeted by the suspect's vengeful older brother, who kidnaps Luke's brother and insists that his own brother is innocent
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Second Circuit Court of Appeals nominee Judge Daniel Brennan is just days away from appointment when he is found murdered in his driveway. The feds move in, but New Jersey detective Luke Somers lands a hot tip that druggie Steven Gallagher may be the killer. Gallagher is armed, and in the heat of the moment, Somers kills him and becomes a national hero. Gallagher’s brother Chris, home on leave from his elite Marine Force Recon unit, is outraged and determined to prove his brother’s innocence. He kidnaps Somers’ brother and threatens to kill him unless Somers finds the real killer within seven days. Somers starts digging and uncovers plenty of conflicting information, but will it be enough to save his brother? The tension is palpable, and the pages fly by in this riveting stand-alone thriller from the author of the Andy Carpenter mystery series. The voice here is every bit as engaging as in the Carpenter novels, with enough humor to lighten the story without diminishing the suspense. And the ending is a real shocker. Sure to appeal to fans of Harlan Coben and Robert Crais. -- Alesi, Stacy (Reviewed 02-15-2013) (Booklist, vol 109, number 12, p31)
  • Lt. Luke Somers, of the New Jersey State Police, faces a critical deadline in this solid stand-alone from Edgar-finalist Rosenfelt (Heart of a Killer). When an anonymous tip names drug addict Steven Gallagher as the killer of Judge Daniel Brennan, who was about to sentence Steven in court, Somers confronts Steven and winds up shooting him in self-defense. Steven’s Marine brother, Chris, tells Somers he has one week to clear Steven’s name and find Brennan’s real killer, or else Chris will kill Somers’s brother, whom he has kidnapped. Somers’s desperate search for another explanation for Brennan’s murder takes him to Brayton, a town bitterly divided by a lawsuit over a plan to extract natural gas by fracking, with a major landowner in favor and the mayor against. Somers may be forced to cross ethical lines to save or avenge his brother. Rosenfelt’s cat-and-mouse game doesn’t rank high on the thrill meter, but Somers is a protagonist with series potential. Author tour. Agent: Robin Rue, Writers House. (Feb.) --Staff (Reviewed December 17, 2012) (Publishers Weekly, vol 259, issue 51, p)
  • If a New Jersey state cop can't prove within a week that the murder suspect he shot dead was innocent, his brother will pay the price. When a knife attack ends rising legal star Daniel Brennan's rise just before he's scheduled to move up from the Superior Court bench to the Court of Appeals, Lt. Lucas Somers catches the case. The judge's murder is so high-profile that Luke's boss gives him extra resources, extra leeway and extra pressure. The very first lead Luke pursues--three-time drug offender Steven Gallagher, whom Brennan had promised a stiff sentence--turns up trumps for Luke, though not so much for Steven, whom Luke shoots three times as Steven, cornered in his Paterson apartment, raises his gun. It's clearly a righteous shooting, and Luke is rewarded with congratulations, television interviews and the kidnapping of his brother, Bryan, by Steven's brother, Chris, a Marine who flew home from Afghanistan to help Steven face his legal woes and now intends to deal with his death by taking the life of his killer's brother, whom he's chained in an underground shelter with a TV, a computer, some food and enough air for seven days. Can Luke rise to Chris Gallagher's challenge and collect enough evidence of Steven's innocence to save his own brother's life? Acting on another hunch, he quickly satisfies himself that the real reason for Judge Brennan's death was a civil suit concerning fracking in upstate New York. But Luke will need every one of his enviable law enforcement contacts in order to determine just which of the many interested parties was determined to tip the scales of justice. This latest stand-alone from the chronicler of attorney Andy Carpenter (Leader of the Pack, 2012, etc.) is two-thirds perfectly controlled suspense, one-third scrambled windup.(Kirkus Reviews, January 15, 2013)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10166231
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rosenfelt, David
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3618.O838
LC item number
A68 2013
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • United States
  • Murder
Target audience
adult
Label
Airtight, David Rosenfelt, (text large print)
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
411 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781410457745
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2013002006
Media category
unmki`ediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Specific material designation
large print
System control number
  • 824672431
  • (OCoLC)824672431
Label
Airtight, David Rosenfelt, (text large print)
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
411 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781410457745
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2013002006
Media category
unmki`ediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Specific material designation
large print
System control number
  • 824672431
  • (OCoLC)824672431

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...