Coverart for item
The Resource All you could ask for, Mike Greenberg

All you could ask for, Mike Greenberg

Label
All you could ask for
Title
All you could ask for
Statement of responsibility
Mike Greenberg
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
After being betrayed by the men they love, three women--Samantha, Brooke and Katherine--find their lives intertwining in unexpected ways, resulting in a powerful friendship that can conquer anything
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • A seemingly incongruous choice of subject matter for author Greenberg, well-known ESPN anchor, All You Could Ask For examines the lives of three well-to-do women from Greenwich, Connecticut. Part 1 of the novel introduces us to Brooke, the young mother still very much in love with her husband; Samantha, the newlywed shocked to discover evidence of her husband’s infidelity while they’re on their Hawaiian honeymoon; and Katherine, the powerful banking executive who still works for the man who broke her heart years ago. Part 2 goes on to reveal how the women come to know one another and how their lives change for the better through shared friendships. Although the novel comes off, at times, as manufactured and cloying, Greenberg’s heart is in the right place. The shared adversity these women face is portrayed realistically and tenderly, although a storybook ending ties up the individual stories a little too neatly. The three women are well drawn, and Greenberg displays an admirable ear for realistic dialogue. Fans of Deborah Copaken Konan, Sarah Pekkanen, and contemporary ensemble fiction will enjoy this debut novel. -- Turza, Stephanie (Reviewed 03-01-2013) (Booklist, vol 109, number 13, p17)
  • This upbeat, snappy debut novel from ESPN sports talk host Greenberg (Why My Wife Thinks I’m an Idiot) involves three iron-willed, independent-minded ladies who meet and become friends through an online support group for breast cancer patients. Samantha Royce is a 28-year-old marathon runner and TV feature producer from New York City who, while honeymooning in Hawaii, discovers that her district attorney husband Robert is already cheating on her. Brooke Biltmore, age 40 and married to Wall Street executive Scott, with two children, protects her “perfect life” by keeping her diagnosis secret. Katherine Emerson, also age 40, has just decided to resign her high-powered corporate job for the man of her dreams when she gets the bad news. Samantha’s sense of humor helps Katherine get through her chemo, while Brooke reconnects Samantha with high school crush Andrew Marks, now a successful pediatrician. Greenberg’s promising first effort, told partly in the form of message board postings, develops the lead characters well enough for its predictably feel-good conclusion to feel justified. Agent: Jacques de Spoelberch, Jacques de Spoelberch Associates. (Apr.) --Staff (Reviewed January 28, 2013) (Publishers Weekly, vol 260, issue 04, p)
  • Sportscaster Greenberg's (Why My Wife Thinks I'm an Idiot ) first novel delves with authenticity and compassion into the lives and minds of three female characters. Brooke knows she has all she could want from life—a husband who loves her, beautiful children, and a marriage that grows stronger daily. She's not willing to let anyone, or anything, destroy any of that. Katherine has all the money and success she could ever wish for, but she willingly suffers every day by working with Phil, the man who broke her heart years ago. She hasn't been able to move forward and search out happiness. After finding out that her new husband was unfaithful on their honeymoon, Samantha summons all her strength to pursue a life that makes her feel complete on her own terms. These women are strangers to one another until they learn something that changes their lives, forever linking them in friendship and courage. VERDICT This well-written page-turner by a surprising author (Greenberg is cohost of ESPN's Mike and Mike in the Morning ) features true-to-life characters who are entertaining and compelling. A must read for fans of smart women's fiction. Fans of Greenberg's show might be curious as well. [See Prepub Alert, 10/28/12.]— Anne M. Miskewitch, Chicago P.L. --Anne M. Miskewitch (Reviewed April 1, 2013) (Library Journal, vol 138, issue 16, p73)
  • Sports pundit Greenberg tries his hand at chick lit, with somber overtones and mixed results. Part One of this first novel is pretty formulaic: Three former debutantes face the usual prickly situations the wealthy and naïve are prone to, involving men, of course. Well, not men per se but their own vulnerabilities with respect to the opposite sex. Katherine, turning 40, doses herself with exercise and affirmations as she faces another day as a Wall Street banker in the employ of a man who jilted her almost 20 years before. Brooke, a Connecticut yummy mummy married to a Wall Street banker, is also turning 40: Her biggest challenge right now is compiling a portfolio of naked photos of herself to present to her husband. Samantha, 28, has her own naked photo dilemma: The politician she has just married has a few (not of her) in his email inbox. She has fled her honeymoon in Kauai for a luxury hotel where her plutocrat father will bail her out of her difficulties and get her marriage annulled while she trains for a triathlon. Part Two will bring these women together. The unifying element, intended to lend gravitas to the frivolity, involves cancer. Although the cancer section provides opportunities for the women to discover what is truly important in life, it also affords Greenberg too many pretexts for preachy clichés and oversimplification. Any automatic sympathy conferred by illness will be mitigated, for most readers, by how little we've come to care for these superficial and uber-privileged characters.(Kirkus Reviews, January 15, 2013)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10171811
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1967-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Greenberg, Mike
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3607.R4496
LC item number
A79 2013
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Female friendship
Target audience
adult
Label
All you could ask for, Mike Greenberg
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
264 pages
Isbn
9780062220752
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2012027371
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 795757535
  • (OCoLC)795757535
Label
All you could ask for, Mike Greenberg
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
264 pages
Isbn
9780062220752
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2012027371
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 795757535
  • (OCoLC)795757535

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...