Coverart for item
The Resource Friday Black

Friday Black

Label
Friday Black
Title
Friday Black
Statement of responsibility
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." —Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review"An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny." —George Saunders"Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." —Roxane GayA National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First BookA piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope
Member of
Summary
A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it’s like to be young and black in America
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Library Journal Best Books, 2018.
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2018
  • ALA Notable Book, 2019.
  • Booklist Editors' Choice, 2018.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10736782
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • African American Fiction
  • Short Stories
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
stories
Label
Friday Black
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781328915139
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Friday Black
Publication
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781328915139
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...