Coverart for item
The Resource How fiction works, James Wood

How fiction works, James Wood

Label
How fiction works
Title
How fiction works
Statement of responsibility
James Wood
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating study of the magic of fiction--an analysis of its main elements and a celebration of its lasting power. Here one of the most prominent and stylish critics of our time looks into the machinery of storytelling to ask some fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we "know" a fictional character? What constitutes a telling detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is Realism realistic? Why do some literary conventions become dated while others stay fresh?
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1965-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wood, James
Dewey number
808.3
Index
index present
LC call number
PN3331
LC item number
.W67 2008
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Fiction
Target audience
adult
Label
How fiction works, James Wood
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
265 pages
Isbn
9780374173401
Lccn
2008010290
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 2008010290
  • (OCoLC)213765645
Label
How fiction works, James Wood
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
265 pages
Isbn
9780374173401
Lccn
2008010290
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 2008010290
  • (OCoLC)213765645

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...