Coverart for item
The Resource Paper ghosts : a novel of suspense, Julia Heaberlin, (electronic resource)

Paper ghosts : a novel of suspense, Julia Heaberlin, (electronic resource)

Label
Paper ghosts : a novel of suspense
Title
Paper ghosts
Title remainder
a novel of suspense
Statement of responsibility
Julia Heaberlin
Creator
Contributor
Author
Distributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "A gripping thriller about a man who may or may not have dementia--and who may or may not be a serial killer--from a master of twists and turns, in the tradition of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn An obsessive young woman has been waiting half her life--since she was twelve years old--for this moment. She has planned. Researched. Trained. Imagined every scenario. Now she is almost certain the man who kidnapped and murdered her sister sits in the passenger seat beside her. Carl Louis Feldman is a documentary photographer. The young woman claims to be his long-lost daughter.He doesn't believe her. He claims no memory of murdering girls across Texas, in a string of places where he shot eerie pictures. She doesn't believe him. Determined to find the truth, she lures him out of a halfway house and proposes a dangerous idea: a ten-day road trip, just the two of them, to examine cold cases linked to his haunting photographs. Is he a liar or a broken old man? Is he a pathological con artist? Or is she? Julia Heaberlin once again swerves the serial killer genre in a new direction. With taut, captivating prose, Heaberlin deftly explores the ghosts that live in our minds--and the ones that stare back from photographs. You won't see the final, terrifying twist spinning your way until the very last mile. Praise for Black-Eyed Susans "A masterful thriller. brilliantly conceived, beautifully executed. [Julia] Heaberlin's work calls to mind that of Gillian Flynn. Both writers published impressive early novels that were largely overlooked, and then one that couldn't be: Flynn's Gone Girl and now Heaberlin's Black-Eyed Susans. Don't miss it."--The Washington Post "[A] gem of a novel. richly textured, beautifully written. The plot twists feel earned as well as genuinely surprising."--The Boston Globe "A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope."--William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob "Deliciously twisty
  • "An elderly man with dementia, once acquitted of a terrible murder and suspected in many others, is removed from his assisted-living facility by a woman he does not recognize--a woman who claims to be his long-lost daughter. She takes him on a road trip across Texas, searching for answers to her own burning questions. Following the paths of vanished women, she attemps to discover the truth about this man. Does he really have dementia? Is he a murderer? What secrets lurk in the dark corners of his disintegrating mind?"--
  • and eerie, Heaberlin's third psychological suspense novel is intricately layered and instantly compelling."--Library Journal (starred review) "A breakout book."--Fort Worth Star-Telegram "Breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant."--Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders "A terrific plot, matched by the quality of the writing and superbly paced tension."--The Times (U.K.)"--
Summary
An elderly man, once acquitted of a murder and suspected in many others, is removed from his assisted-living facility by a woman he does not recognize who claims to be his long-lost daughter, a situation that brings into question her motives and the legitimacy of his dementia
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2018
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10657655
Cataloging source
TLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Heaberlin, Julia
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3608.E224
LC item number
P37 2018
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Murderers
  • Obsession
  • People with dementia
  • Families of murder victims
  • Fathers and daughters
  • Murder suspects
Target audience
adult
Label
Paper ghosts : a novel of suspense, Julia Heaberlin, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780804178037
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
94BFA78C-1871-4135-838A-AF1FB6F07FFC
System control number
  • erc0000638522
  • (OCoLC)1035847251
Label
Paper ghosts : a novel of suspense, Julia Heaberlin, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780804178037
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
94BFA78C-1871-4135-838A-AF1FB6F07FFC
System control number
  • erc0000638522
  • (OCoLC)1035847251
Processing Feedback ...