Coverart for item
The Resource Saint X, Alexis Schaitkin

Saint X, Alexis Schaitkin

Label
Saint X
Title
Saint X
Statement of responsibility
Alexis Schaitkin
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Hailed as a "marvel of a book" and "brilliant and unflinching," Alexis Schaitkin's stunning debut, Saint X, is a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another. Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison's body is found in a remote spot on a nearby cay, and two local men - employees at the resort - are arrested. But the evidence is slim, the timeline against it, and the men are soon released. The story turns into national tabloid news, a lurid mystery that will go unsolved. For Claire and her parents, there is only the return home to broken lives. Years later, Claire is living and working in New York City when a brief but fateful encounter brings her together with Clive Richardson, one of the men originally suspected of murdering her sister. It is a moment that sets Claire on an obsessive pursuit of the truth - not only to find out what happened the night of Alison's death but also to answer the elusive question: Who exactly was her sister? At seven, Claire had been barely old enough to know her: a beautiful, changeable, provocative girl of eighteen at a turbulent moment of identity formation. As Claire doggedly shadows Clive, hoping to gain his trust, waiting for the slip that will reveal the truth, an unlikely attachment develops between them, two people whose lives were forever marked by the same tragedy. For readers of Emma Cline's The Girls and Lauren Groff's Fates and Furies, Saint X is a flawlessly drawn and deeply moving story that culminates in an emotionally powerful ending. This book is part of the Thorndike Press Large Print Basic list"--
Summary
When a brief but fateful encounter brings her together with one of the men originally suspected of killing her sister, Claire, hoping to gain his trust and learn the truth, forms an unlikely attachment with this man whose life is forever marked by the same tragedy
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2020.
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10843189
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1985-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Schaitkin, Alexis
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3619.C32534
LC item number
S25 2020b
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Thorndike Press large print basic
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Sisters
  • Grief
  • Murder
Target audience
adult
Label
Saint X, Alexis Schaitkin
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
343 pages
Isbn
9781250219596
Lccn
2019036360
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1129218327
  • (OCoLC)1129218327
Label
Saint X, Alexis Schaitkin
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
343 pages
Isbn
9781250219596
Lccn
2019036360
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1129218327
  • (OCoLC)1129218327

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...