Coverart for item
The Resource Seven days of us : a novel, Francesca Hornak

Seven days of us : a novel, Francesca Hornak

Label
Seven days of us : a novel
Title
Seven days of us
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Francesca Hornak
Title variation
7 days of us
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
" It's Christmas, and for the first time in years the entire Birch family will be under one roof. Even Emma and Andrew's elder daughter--who is usually off saving the world--will be joining them at Weyfield Hall, their aging country estate. But Olivia, a doctor, is only coming home because she has to. Having just returned from treating an epidemic abroad, she's been told she must stay in quarantine for a week...and so too should her family. For the next seven days, the Birches are locked down, cut off from the rest of humanity--and even decent Wi-FI--and forced into each other's orbits. Younger, unabashedly frivolous daughter Phoebe is fixated on her upcoming wedding, while Olivia deals with the culture shock of being immersed in first-world problems. As Andrew sequesters himself in his study writing scathing restaurant reviews and remembering his glory days as a war correspondent, Emma hides a secret that will turn the whole family upside down. In close proximity, not much can stay hidden for long, and as revelations and long-held tensions come to light, nothing is more shocking than the unexpected guest who's about to arrive..."--
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Loan Stars Favourites, 2017
  • LibraryReads Favorites, 2017
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ The Birch family hasn’t spent Christmas together in years, but that’s about to change. Olivia, the eldest Birch daughter, just returned from treating a life-threatening virus in Liberia and must be quarantined for a week. Emma, the family matriarch, will take any excuse to spend time with the globe-trotting doctor and decides to host the holidays in her family’s country home, Weyfield Hall. Andrew, the patriarch, finds Weyfield Hall drafty and out-of-date, but an unexpected email makes the accommodations the least of his worries. Youngest daughter Phoebe, preoccupied with her wedding plans, frankly finds Olivia a bit sanctimonious about the whole saving-the-world thing. While the Birches are stuck in Weyfield Hall for a week, long-standing resentments are aired, secrets are unveiled, and the family realizes that this Christmas is sure to be unlike any other. Hornak’s first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Hornak lets each member of the dysfunctional Birch ensemble narrate in turn, so the reader gains a full picture of the family dynamics. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home. -- Turza, Stephanie (Reviewed 9/1/2017) (Booklist, vol 114, number 1, p48)
  • /*LibraryReads Favorite*/ The Birch family will be spending the Christmas holiday in quarantine, thanks to eldest daughter Olivia's recent relief work in a disease-infested Liberia. She has returned to England but must be in quarantine for seven days. This family has not ever spent that much time in each other's company. Each person has secrets that are slowly revealed over the course of the seven days. It is particularly interesting to watch them become the family that they should have been all along: supportive and loving. An enjoyable read. -- Cheryl Braud, Iberia Public Library, New Iberia, LA. (LibraryReads, October 2017)
  • Hornak’s smart, delightfully funny, page-turning debut takes a posh, dysfunctional British family—two parents, two adult daughters, each with a secret—slaps on a week’s worth of quarantine at Christmastime, and adds a dash of pathos as well as a large helping of humor. Do-gooder Olivia Birch is back from treating an Ebola-like epidemic in Liberia—hence the catalyst for the family quarantine—and doesn’t want anyone to know about her affair with one of her coworkers. Andrew, her father and a former Beirut war correspondent, has just received an email from Jesse Robinson, a son in the U.S. he never knew he had from a one-night stand in Lebanon years ago. Andrew’s wife, Emma, recently diagnosed with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, is determined not to ruin Christmas by spilling the beans about her illness. Daughter Phoebe has just accepted a proposal from her swanky boyfriend, George, but she’s not sure she truly loves him. Jesse travels to the U.K. to meet his biological father and the ensuing coincidences, mishaps, arguments, and opportunities for self-reflection upend the Birch family relationships. As the story unfolds from various viewpoints, Hornak imbues each character with a singularity that underscores her spot-on insight about human nature. (Oct.) --Staff (Reviewed 10/30/2017) (Publishers Weekly, vol 264, issue 44, p)
  • In Hornak's first novel, the Birch family is spending Christmas together at Weyfield Hall. Really together, as they are under a seven-day quarantine order, thanks to eldest sister Olivia's return from fighting Haag virus in Liberia. This enforced closeness will both exacerbate and repair family spats, especially once an unexpected relative crashes the quarantine. Although written in third person, the narrative switches perspectives among parents Andrew and Emma, sisters Phoebe and Olivia, and newcomer American Jesse, digging into the hidden emotional life of each. Hornak writes with a sense of irony and an eye on today's social issues, including a multitude of contemporary references to news events and technology, though the seriousness of these topics doesn't always mesh well with the book's overall lighter tone. Fans of contemporary English stories such as those by Jane Green or Jenny Colgan will enjoy this novel about the shaky recovery of family bonds. VERDICT Despite some reliance on predictable plot twists and a shade too much melodrama in the ending, readers will find this a satisfyingly alternative holiday read. [See Prepub Alert, 7/28/17; "Editors' Fall Picks," LJ 9/1/17.]—Melanie Kindrachuk, Stratford P.L., Ont. --Melanie Kindrachuk (Reviewed 09/15/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 15, p70)
  • A family must spend seven days quarantined together—with all their disagreements, resentments, and secrets—in this debut novel.Olivia Birch feels right at home treating patients of the Ebola-like Haag epidemic in Liberia. She feels less at home, however, at her own family's country house. Since she has nowhere else to go, she returns home for Christmas, and because she was exposed to a deadly virus, her entire family must stay in quarantine with her. While monitoring herself for symptoms and missing the doctor with whom she had a secret and ill-advised romantic relationship, Olivia rolls her eyes at what she sees as her family's frivolous concerns. Her relatives, however, are dealing with their own problems. Her younger sister, Phoebe, is wrapped up in planning a wedding to a man she's not all that passionate about. Her restaurant-reviewer father, Andrew, has just received an email from the grown son he didn't know he had. And her mother, Emma, just got a cancer diagnosis that she's determined to keep from the family until after the quarantine is over. The family's already tenuous bond is turned upside down when Andrew's son shows up at the door. Soon, secrets are spilling out, and everyone realizes they don't know quite as much about their family as they thought they did. Hornak skillfully juggles each character's distinct point of view and creates a family that readers will grow to love. This holiday read is perfect for fans of cozy Christmas films like Love Actually and The Family Stone. An emotional but ultimately uplifting holiday story.(Kirkus Reviews, August 15, 2017)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10575892
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hornak, Francesca
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6108.O735
LC item number
S49 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Family secrets
  • Families
Target audience
adult
Label
Seven days of us : a novel, Francesca Hornak
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
358 pages
Isbn
9780451488756
Lccn
2017022801
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 970383839
  • (OCoLC)970383839
Label
Seven days of us : a novel, Francesca Hornak
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
358 pages
Isbn
9780451488756
Lccn
2017022801
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 970383839
  • (OCoLC)970383839

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...