Coverart for item
The Resource Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America, Britt Collins ; with a foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson

Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America, Britt Collins ; with a foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson

Label
Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America
Title
Strays
Title remainder
a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America
Statement of responsibility
Britt Collins ; with a foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other. Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of the tracks in Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat and takes her inches Nursing her back to health, he names her Tabor and she becomes a bit of a celebrity in southeast Portland. But when Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat, Michael makes the difficult choice to return to Portland and reunite Tabor with her owner. Now Michael must create a new purpose in his life after Tabor. The authentic tale of an adventurous and charismatic cat and her compassionate human admirers, Strays proves the healing power of love and the profound bond between humans and animals
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
contains biographical information
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10569298
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Collins, Britt
Dewey number
636.8
Index
no index present
LC call number
SF442
LC item number
.C65 2017
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • King, Michael
  • Cats
  • Pet loss
  • Homeless men
  • Human-animal relationships
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across america
Label
Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America, Britt Collins ; with a foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Portland, Oregon: round midnight -- Stray cat blues -- Gimme shelter -- Scary monsters and super creeps -- Born to run -- On the road again -- Oregon to California: riders on the storm -- Backwoods Oregon: Memory Motel -- Baby please come home -- Anyway, anyhow, anywhere -- California: ride into the Sun -- King City: sweetheart of the rodeo -- Bad moon rising -- Ventura, California: good vibrations -- The stars are out tonight -- Yosemite: walk on the wild wide -- Big sky country: devils and dust -- Black magic woman -- Dillon, Montana: holy cow -- Portland: a summer storm and full moon -- Helena, Montana: mysteries of a feline heart -- Astral weeks -- The most beautiful girl -- The cat was a rainbow in a dark world -- The long and winding road -- Portland again: sweet emotion -- Seven steps to heaven
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
xvi, 251 pages
Isbn
9781501125621
Lccn
2016057210
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 985602812
  • (OCoLC)985602812
Label
Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America, Britt Collins ; with a foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Portland, Oregon: round midnight -- Stray cat blues -- Gimme shelter -- Scary monsters and super creeps -- Born to run -- On the road again -- Oregon to California: riders on the storm -- Backwoods Oregon: Memory Motel -- Baby please come home -- Anyway, anyhow, anywhere -- California: ride into the Sun -- King City: sweetheart of the rodeo -- Bad moon rising -- Ventura, California: good vibrations -- The stars are out tonight -- Yosemite: walk on the wild wide -- Big sky country: devils and dust -- Black magic woman -- Dillon, Montana: holy cow -- Portland: a summer storm and full moon -- Helena, Montana: mysteries of a feline heart -- Astral weeks -- The most beautiful girl -- The cat was a rainbow in a dark world -- The long and winding road -- Portland again: sweet emotion -- Seven steps to heaven
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
xvi, 251 pages
Isbn
9781501125621
Lccn
2016057210
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 985602812
  • (OCoLC)985602812

Library Locations

    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...