Coverart for item
The Resource The Wife

The Wife

Label
The Wife
Title
The Wife
Statement of responsibility
Alafair Burke
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"This year's Gone Girl."—Harlan CobenA Boston Globe Best Book of 2018 | A Sun-Sentinel Best Mystery Book of 2018 | A Crime Reads Best Novel of 2018His ScandalHer SecretFrom New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?
Summary
Marrying an economics professor she met while catering an East Hampton dinner party, Angela finds her tragic past coming under scrutiny at the same time she is asked to defend her husband against wrongful accusations
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10616282
Cataloging source
BT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Burke, Alafair
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Suspense
  • Thriller
Target audience
adult
Label
The Wife
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062390530
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Wife
Publication
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062390530
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...