Coverart for item
The Resource The boat people : a novel, Sharon Bala

The boat people : a novel, Sharon Bala

Label
The boat people : a novel
Title
The boat people
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Sharon Bala
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"--
  • "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"--
Summary
Journeying to what he hopes will be a new life with his young son on a rusty cargo ship with 500 fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's civil war, a young father arrives on Vancouver's shores, where the group is thrown into a detention processing center and threatened with deportation amid accusations of terrorism.
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10616274
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bala, Sharon
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.B3565
LC item number
B63 2018
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Refugees
  • Fathers and sons
Target audience
adult
Label
The boat people : a novel, Sharon Bala
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
338 pages
Isbn
9780385542296
Lccn
2017020049
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 983346780
  • (OCoLC)983346780
Label
The boat people : a novel, Sharon Bala
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
338 pages
Isbn
9780385542296
Lccn
2017020049
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 983346780
  • (OCoLC)983346780

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...