Coverart for item
The Resource The dark angel, Elly Griffiths

The dark angel, Elly Griffiths

Label
The dark angel
Title
The dark angel
Statement of responsibility
Elly Griffiths
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In this highly atmospheric mystery, Ruth Galloway--described by Louise Penny as "a captivating amateur sleuth"--and DI Nelson have their summer vacations horribly disrupted by a murder in a medieval Italian town where dark secrets are buried as deep as bones"--
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ This is the tenth outing for the award-winning Griffiths’ Ruth Galloway (after The Chalk Pit, 2017). This time the English forensic archaeologist is transported from the calming chill of Norwich’s spare salt marshes to the daunting heat of the Italian countryside in August. Another archaeologist has asked for her help identifying ancient bones unearthed in a tiny hilltop town, and the badly-in-need-of-a-vacation single mom decides that this will have to do. The skull has a stone in its mouth, and when the town’s priest is killed and found in the same manner, Ruth begins to wonder about his connection to the local Fascist occupation and how the two deaths might be linked. She has brought her daughter, Kate, with her, and their mother-daughter bond, featuring the sassy girl’s banter, is an absolute delight. With DCI Nelson (Kate’s partner, romantically and professionally) and Ruth’s druid friend Cathbad showing up, too, there is a charming old-home-week feel to this Italian adventure. The humor is well placed, as are the insightful forays into Italy’s history and people, but the gripping ending leaves no doubt that this is, above all, a mystery. Two mysteries, in fact, simultaneously playing out at home and abroad. Both with tragic consequences. A sure bet for fans of strong-minded women and wry humor in the tradition of Rhys Bowen and M. C. Beaton. -- Murphy, Jane (Reviewed 3/15/2018) (Booklist, vol 114, number 14, p20)
  • Mary Higgins Clark Award–winner Griffths’s uneven 10th Ruth Galloway mystery (after 2017’s The Chalk Pit) takes forensic archeologist Ruth and her daughter, Kate, to Castello degli Angeli, a little Italian town, to help colleague Angelo Morelli, who hosts an archeology-based TV show, analyze a Roman-era skeleton. When Ruth finds a hostile message at her lodging, and Angelo tells her he’s received death threats, they assume someone wants to stop their work. The subsequent murder of the kindly local priest in his church raises the stakes. Meanwhile, alarmed by news of an earthquake in the region, Det. Chief Insp. Harry Nelson, Ruth’s sometime lover and Kate’s father, flies to Italy, leaving his pregnant wife, Michelle, home in Norfolk, England. Subplots involving Michelle’s affair with another police officer, uncertainty about her baby’s father’s identity, and a newly released criminal determined to seek vengeance converge in a dramatic but contrived finale. Rich details about the Italian countryside, gastronomy, and history make up only in part for the underdeveloped mystery plot. Agent: Rebecca Carter, Janklow & Nesbit (U.K.). (May) --Staff (Reviewed 03/19/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 12, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ Forensic anthropologist Ruth Galloway gets a call from an Italian colleague asking for help identifying a skeleton. Craving some sun, she packs up her daughter Kate and friend Shona and heads for a romantic hill town still haunted by ghosts of World War II. Meanwhile, DCI Nelson, Ruth's sometime lover and father of her daughter, has his hands full at home with his pregnant wife and a murderer who has been paroled. But he rushes to Italy (and Ruth) when a small earthquake hits the village. Everyone is fine, but as soon as Nelson arrives, a murder occurs, and the locals enlist his help with the investigation. Griffiths deftly balances the plotlines at home and abroad to deliver another hugely satisfying and entertaining Galloway mystery full of atmosphere and loose ends. VERDICT This tenth addition to the series (after The Chalk Pit) is one of the best! The story lines are confidently interwoven, the Italian scenery is vividly drawn, and Ruth and Nelson's relationship becomes yet more complicated, leaving readers eager for the next installment. [See Prepub Alert, 11/13/17.] --Susan Clifford Braun (Reviewed 05/01/2018) (Library Journal, vol 143, issue 8, p50)
  • An Italian vacation involves a bone expert in yet another murder. British archaeologist Dr. Ruth Galloway's specialty has led her to assist the police and involved her in a love affair with DCI Nelson (The Chalk Pit, 2017, etc.). The product of that affair is Kate, whom Nelson enjoys spending time with even though he's still married to Michelle, who knows about his daughter. At the wedding of one of Nelson's officers, Ruth runs into Tim Heathfield, a former member of Nelson's team whose clandestine affair with Michelle caused him to leave Norfolk. Michelle, who's pregnant, has denied having sex with Tim, but it's likely to become obvious very soon which man fathered her child, since the Nelsons are white and Tim is black. Stressed over her complicated relationship with Nelson, Ruth jumps at the chance when archaeologist Angelo Morelli invites her to come to Italy to look at some bones for a TV series he's doing, offering her the use of his grandfather's apartment in a hilltop town an hour from Rome. She takes Kate without telling Nelson, who's busy dealing with a man just released from prison who's threatened him. In Italy Ruth learns that the locals differ sharply about whether Angelo's grandfather Pompeo was a hero of the Resistance in World War II. When an earthquake strikes nearby, Nelson rushes with Cathbad, a friend who speaks Italian, to join her. They arrive soon after Ruth finds the murdered body of town priest Don Tomaso. The earthquake has uncovered some bones buried in the churchyard that are most likely those of a friend of Pompeo's who vanished during the war. Ruth is targeted by someone who does not want her looking into old deaths or new; Nelson's family may not be safe from an ex-convict whose claim to have found God in prison does not impress the English police. The latest in Griffiths' impressive series, which cleverly weaves several mysteries into the continuing story of the leading couple and their circle of friends, is certain to delight devoted fans and newcomers alike. (Kirkus Reviews, March 15, 2018)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10657658
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Griffiths, Elly
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6107.R534
LC item number
D37 2018
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
A Ruth Galloway Mystery
Series volume
10
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Galloway, Ruth
  • Women forensic anthropologists
Target audience
adult
Label
The dark angel, Elly Griffiths
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
345 pages
Isbn
9780544750326
Lccn
2017057874
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 994525341
  • (OCoLC)994525341
Label
The dark angel, Elly Griffiths
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
345 pages
Isbn
9780544750326
Lccn
2017057874
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 994525341
  • (OCoLC)994525341

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...