Coverart for item
The Resource The girl in the castle, by Santa Montefiore, (text large print)

The girl in the castle, by Santa Montefiore, (text large print)

Label
The girl in the castle
Title
The girl in the castle
Statement of responsibility
by Santa Montefiore
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor. Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook, and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son, is unmatched--even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles since they are from different worlds. Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested--and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland
Member of
Summary
A first installment in a trilogy follows the experiences of Kitty, who enjoys a life of privilege on Ireland's wild countryside at the side of an increasingly resentful best friend and the vet's son she loves, until the Irish revolt threatens her beloved home
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10523657
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1970-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Montefiore, Santa
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6113.O544
LC item number
G57 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Deverril chronicles ; #1
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Interclass friendship
  • Rebels
  • Secrets
  • Resentfulness
  • Psychic ability
  • British in Ireland
  • Anglo-Irish relations
  • Interpersonal attraction
  • National liberation movements
  • Ireland
  • Cork, Ireland
Target audience
adult
Label
The girl in the castle, by Santa Montefiore, (text large print)
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
699 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781410497970
Lccn
2016051992
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
large print
System control number
  • 963230994
  • (OCoLC)963230994
Label
The girl in the castle, by Santa Montefiore, (text large print)
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
699 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781410497970
Lccn
2016051992
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
large print
System control number
  • 963230994
  • (OCoLC)963230994

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...