Coverart for item
The Resource The husband hour, Jamie Brenner

The husband hour, Jamie Brenner

Label
The husband hour
Title
The husband hour
Statement of responsibility
Jamie Brenner
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Lauren Adelman and Rory Kincaid marry just out of college as Rory earns a spot in the NHL. Then he shocks everyone-- even Lauren-- by enlisting in the U.S. Army. When Rory dies in combat, Lauren is left devastated, alone, and under unbearable public scrutiny. She retreats to her family's old beach house on the Jersey Shore, sharing the house with her overbearing mother and competitive sister. Filmmaker Matt Brio, making a documentary about Rory tracks her down and persuades her to give him just an hour of her time. Over a summer of revelations, surprises, and upheaval, Lauren begins to understand the past-- and to welcome the future
Storyline
Writing style
Review
  • Brenner (The Forever Summer, 2017) returns with another sun-soaked, emotional saga. After her NHL-star-turned-Army-Ranger husband, Rory, was killed in Iraq, Lauren Kincaid spent four years isolated at her family’s beach house on the Jersey Shore, running 12 miles a day, working at a local restaurant, and avoiding (or possibly wallowing in) grief. Now Lauren’s parents, sister, and nephew have descended en masse for the summer, bringing their own worries and upheaval with them. Matt Brio, a documentary filmmaker, wants to tell Rory’s story and needs Lauren to fill in the gaps. There’s more to the story than public accounts include, more than even Lauren knows, and Matt is scrambling to put it all together before his funding runs out. Secrets are shared, connections are made, and everything falls apart for Lauren and her family before it comes back together. Brenner tackles grief, trust, and family dynamics in this tale about coming to terms with the past in order to move toward the future. Offer it to fans of Elin Hilderbrand and summer beaches. -- Moroni, Alene (Reviewed 3/1/2018) (Booklist, vol 114, number 13, p38)
  • Following the death of her husband, NHL star and American military hero Rory Kincaid, Lauren resigns herself to a life of solitude on the Jersey Shore. She cuts herself off from her friends, won't talk to the press, and never wants to feel love again. This makes it difficult for filmmaker Matt Brio, who wishes to tell Rory's story, to find her. It's even more difficult for him to convince Lauren to talk to him. As Matt is searching for Lauren, her parents and sister arrive in town to stay. Family relations are not good, and Lauren's quiet life quickly unravels into chaos. A summer of solitude on the Jersey Shore is suddenly full of revelations and upheaval for Lauren, Matt, and Lauren's family. Brenner (The Forever Summer) shares an intriguing tale of love and loss. The picturesque beach town setting successfully counterbalances the emotional turmoil felt by the characters. Flashbacks add understanding and depth. VERDICT Sad but compassionate, this novel successfully illustrates how people can grow and lives can change. Recommended for fans of Emily Giffin or Elin Hilderbrand. [See Prepub Alert, 10/22/17.] --Kristen Calvert (Reviewed 04/01/2018) (Library Journal, vol 143, issue 6, p71)
  • Lauren Kincaid just wants to escape the public eye, but that isn't so easy as the widow of Rory, an NHL hockey player who enlisted in the Army and was killed in action while serving in Iraq. She hopes to gain some privacy to mourn by retreating to her family's beach house on the Jersey shore. Her privacy is complicated after four years when Lauren's parents, sister, and 6-year-old nephew arrive for the summer. Even worse, attractive filmmaker Matt Brio, determined to make a documentary about Rory, wants to interview Lauren before he loses funding. Although Matt, too, admires Rory, he suspects that there may be more to the story of an American saint than his heroism. Unearthing revelations about a man everyone adored and no one wants to malign proves difficult. Eventually, Lauren and her sister agree to cooperate, and Matt's interviews expose several skeletons in Rory's closet. Toggling between Lauren's new life—a life she keeps too busy to dwell on the past—and flashbacks to her buried memories of Rory, Brenner (The Forever Summer, 2017, etc.) empathetically portrays a fragile woman hiding secrets from herself. In Lauren's memory, they were the perfect couple, high school sweethearts. Rory was the star hockey player, a junior who spotted a shy, pretty sophomore girl running track and fell in love. Though they were inseparable in high school, Rory pushed Lauren away for a brief period during college so he could concentrate on academics and hockey at Harvard, where he generated a lot of interest, landing him a place with the L.A. Kings. Reunited after college, they moved to California, and although Lauren supported him, Rory struggled to gain ice time. His abrupt decision to enlist terrified Lauren but came as no surprise to Rory's beloved older brother, Emerson. Brenner deftly orchestrates the painful peeling away of Lauren's memories, and just when it seems that Lauren is simply a heartbroken widow, questions surface: Why does Emerson hold a grudge against her? Why didn't Lauren know Rory was going to volunteer for a second tour? Only an unflinching look at the truth will let Lauren move on and, perhaps, find a new life. Fans of light romance and family reunions will savor this sensitive portrait of love transcending grief. (Kirkus Reviews, March 1, 2018)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10638446
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1971-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Brenner, Jamie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3602.E6458
LC item number
H87 2018b
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Widows
  • Motion picture producers and directors
  • Grief
  • Man-woman relationships
  • New Jersey
Target audience
adult
Label
The husband hour, Jamie Brenner
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
360 pages
Isbn
9780316394901
Lccn
2017944469
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1031089757
  • (OCoLC)1031089757
Label
The husband hour, Jamie Brenner
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
360 pages
Isbn
9780316394901
Lccn
2017944469
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1031089757
  • (OCoLC)1031089757

Library Locations

    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...