Coverart for item
The Resource The last widow, Karin Slaughter

The last widow, Karin Slaughter

Label
The last widow
Title
The last widow
Statement of responsibility
Karin Slaughter
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
On a serene summer Sunday, a routine admission for a run-of-the-mill surgery at Atlanta's Emory Hospital goes tragically wrong, setting off a catastrophic wave of destruction that sends the facility and the surrounding area into lockdown. One of the city's largest and most prestigious institutions, Emory is situated near the Centers for Disease Control, the FBI counter-terrorism headquarters, and a large children's hospital. Anything that happens there has repercussions for the entire city, the state of Georgia, and possibly the entire nation. A few miles away, medical examiner Sara Linton is enduring an awkward lunch with her mother, her aunt, and her boyfriend Will Trent, an agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. But the sudden wail of sirens blaring in the distance cuts the uncomfortable get-together short, drawing her and Will to the scene. Within an hour the situation at Emory has spiraled out of control-Sara has been taken prisoner and Will forced undercover, on a case in which thousands of lives are at stake. That "routine admission" at Emory was the opening maneuver in a perilous game of hunter and prey that leads him out of Atlanta into the Appalachians, to a remote compound where a radical group has hatched a diabolical plan for murder on a massive scale that will rock the nation if it isn't stopped
Member of
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2019.
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ The latest entry in the Will Trent series (and the first since The Kept Woman, 2016) is cause for celebration by fans of Slaughter, in particular, and of crime fiction in general. A month after Michelle Spivey, an epidemiologist at the Centers for Disease Control, is kidnapped, explosions are set off at Emory University. Arriving at the scene, Georgia Bureau of Investigation (GBI) agent Will Trent and Sara Linton, GBI medical examiner and Will’s lover, are stopped at an odd accident scene, where attackers assault Will and abduct Sara. Bereft at his failure to stop the attack and still in severe pain, Will perseveres to do whatever it takes to save Sara. But he’s up against the Invisible Patriot Army (IPA), a paramilitary white nationalist group led by a pedophile known as Dash, who plans to send a message to the nation that will cause countless casualties. As the narrative moves between law-enforcement officers and the secluded IPA camp, and time becomes critical, the depth of the relationship between Will and Sara is also vividly portrayed. With familiar characters, further developed here, and a plot as timely as it is riveting, Slaughter’s latest will enthrall her ever-growing legion of fans.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Slaughter's thrillers have become near-automatic best-sellers, and this is one of her best. -- Michele Leber (Reviewed 7/1/2019) (Booklist, vol 115, number 21, p27)
  • A fast-paced thriller in the Will Trent series has Will and Sara trying to prevent a deadly epidemic. The book tells the story of what is happening to three different people during the same short time periods, as they are unaware of the actions of the others. For readers who enjoy Tana French and John Sanford. -- Susanne Guide, Union County Public Library, Liberty, IN. (LibraryReads, August 2019)
  • In bestseller Slaughter’s harrowing seventh novel featuring Sara Linton and her boyfriend, Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent Will Trent (after 2016’s The Kept Woman), Sara and Will are visiting her family in the Atlanta suburbs when explosions rock nearby Emory University. As the couple heads toward campus, they encounter a multiple-car accident. Sara stops to offer medical assistance and discovers that one vehicle contains several armed men—two with gunshot wounds—and a traumatized woman she recognizes as missing CDC epidemiologist Michelle Spivey. After a brutal fight that injures Will, the men take Sara and flee. Will is certain that Sara’s kidnappers bombed Emory, and intelligence suggests the men are part of a paramilitary group that’s planning something catastrophic. With the clock ticking, Will and his partner, Faith Mitchell, scramble to follow bread crumbs left by a terrified but determined Sara. Vivid characters and rapidly escalating stakes complement the riveting, adrenaline-fueled plot. Along the way, Slaughter examines such topics as misogyny, white nationalism, and the politicization of law enforcement. Thriller fans will devour this visceral, gratifying entry. Author tour. Agent: Victoria Sanders, Victoria Sanders & Assoc. (Aug.)
			 --Staff (Reviewed 06/24/2019) (Publishers Weekly, vol 266, issue 25, p)
  • Pediatrician/medical examiner Sara Linton's path to marrying Will Trent, of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, runs into apocalyptic obstacles only Slaughter could devise. To begin with, Sara's mother objects so strenuously to Will that she won't even utter his name. But her opposition can't compete with the carnage that erupts when Sara and Will (The Kept Woman, 2016, etc.), hearing the sounds of a bomb near Emory University, rush to the scene and encounter along the way the aftermath of a three-car collision. Stopping to help, they soon smell something amiss, but not soon enough to prevent them from being overpowered and separated by the supposed victims. Will is beaten to the ground; Sara is whisked off in a car whose occupants include Michelle Spivey, a scientist with the Centers for Disease Control who was abducted from under her young daughter's nose a month ago. Arriving at the mountain encampment of the Invisible Patriot Army, a paramilitary cadre determined to make America white again, Sara is first forced to treat the wounds of the men who kidnapped her and then asked by IPA leader Dash to remain so that she can treat an outbreak of measles that's swept through the children in the camp, including Dash's daughter, whose mother is Gwen Novak, the daughter of Martin Novak, whose history of anti-government bank robberies has made him a high-value federal prisoner. As Will schemes to infiltrate the camp disguised as a new recruit, Sara is dismayed to find that no matter what she does, the children she's tending keep getting sicker and sicker. Even the most ardent fans of Slaughter's white-hot thrillers (Pieces of Her, 2018, etc.) will be shocked and horror-stricken by the outrage Dash has planned. All the emotional intensity Slaughter's readers expect, now focused on a diabolical domestic terrorist. Don't say you weren't warned. (Kirkus Reviews, July 1, 2019)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10795331
Cataloging source
YDX
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1971-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Slaughter, Karin
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Will Trent series
Series volume
9
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Trent, Will
  • Linton, Sara (Fictitious character)
  • Government investigators
  • Medical examiners (Law)
  • Undercover operations
  • Disappeared persons
  • Bombings
  • Atlanta (Ga.)
  • Georgia
Target audience
adult
Label
The last widow, Karin Slaughter
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
448 pages
Isbn
9780062858085
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1074377799
  • (OCoLC)1074377799
Label
The last widow, Karin Slaughter
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
448 pages
Isbn
9780062858085
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1074377799
  • (OCoLC)1074377799

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...