Coverart for item
The Resource The parting glass, Gina Marie Guadagnino

The parting glass, Gina Marie Guadagnino

Label
The parting glass
Title
The parting glass
Statement of responsibility
Gina Marie Guadagnino
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Vividly recreates the class and ethnic conflicts of early-19th-century New York City. In the 1830s, Maire O'Farren and her brother, Seanin, flee Ireland's poverty and political strife for a better life in America. Because of hostility to immigrants, Maire changes her name to Mary Ballard and assumes a British accent to secure a job as lady's maid to the rich and beautiful Charlotte Walden. Seanin, now calling himself Johnny Prior, gets a position in the Walden family's stables so he can stay close to Mary. When Seanin falls for Charlotte, Mary facilitates their trysts even though she's also in love with Charlotte. Liddie, a black prostitute who frequents the Hibernian, an Irish bar, provides sensual comfort to soothe Mary's heartache and the two embark on an affair. Charlotte's commitment to Johnny is tested when her mother forces her to choose an appropriate husband. As Charlotte struggles with life-changing decisions, Mary learns the secret of the connection between her brother and what really goes on at the Hibernian
Summary
Devoted maid Mary Ballard’s world is built on secrets, and it’s about to be ripped apart at the seams, in this lush and evocative debut set in 19th century New York, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters’s Fingersmith and Emma Donoghue’s Slammerkin
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10763007
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1982-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Guadagnino, Gina Marie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3607.U216
LC item number
P37 2019
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Gangs
  • Triangles (Interpersonal relations)
  • Secret societies
  • Social classes
  • Irish
  • New York (N.Y.)
Target audience
adult
Label
The parting glass, Gina Marie Guadagnino
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 309-310)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9781501198410
Lccn
2018013998
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1031043365
  • (OCoLC)1031043365
Label
The parting glass, Gina Marie Guadagnino
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 309-310)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9781501198410
Lccn
2018013998
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • on1031043365
  • (OCoLC)1031043365

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...