Coverart for item
The Resource The rules of love & grammar : a novel, Mary Simses

The rules of love & grammar : a novel, Mary Simses

Label
The rules of love & grammar : a novel
Title
The rules of love & grammar
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Mary Simses
Title variation
Rules of love and grammar
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A grammar whiz who's brilliant at correcting other people's errors, Grace Hammond is newly jobless, and hasn't found the right set of rules for fixing her own mistakes. She retreats to her Connecticut hometown, and comes to terms, finally, with the tragedy that took her older sister's life so many years ago. As she rekindles a romance with Peter, her high school sweetheart she also finds sparks flying with schoolteacher Mitch. Now Grace whether it's time for her to throw away the rule book and bravely follow her heart
Storyline
Writing style
Character
Review
  • Grace Hammond is absolutely positive that bad luck comes in threes. She’s out of a job, her boyfriend just dumped her for a cute paralegal, and there’s a major water leak in her Manhattan apartment building. Grace heads back to her hometown of Dorset, Connecticut, to regroup. Her parents and best friend, Cluny, are thrilled to see her, but Grace just wants to lay low until her apartment is repaired. And lay low she does—until she hears that an old flame is directing a new movie currently filming in Dorset. Completely unsure of her future, Grace wonders if her past holds all the answers. The type-A heroine floundering in her hometown is a familiar trope, but Simses delivers a charming and unpredictable spin on the concept. Grace’s journey of personal growth skirts the line between relatable and aspirational, as Simses contrasts the security of small-town life with Grace’s dreams of Hollywood grandeur. Fans of Mary Kay Andrews, Elin Hilderbrand, and Jennifer Close will adore the picturesque setting, genuine characters, and rom-com feel. -- Turza, Stephanie (Reviewed 5/15/2016) (Booklist, vol 112, number 18, p22)
  • Grace Hammond is happiest holding a red pen and making corrections to the many grammatical errors in the world. If only she could do the same in her own life. Thirty-something copy editor Grace is facing the romantic comedy setup trifecta of misfortune: she lost her job, her boyfriend dumped her, and her roof is leaking. While her Manhattan apartment is undergoing repairs, she spends two weeks at her childhood home in Connecticut as her parents plan a big birthday celebration for dad. By happy coincidence, Grace's high school sweetheart, the one who got away, has also returned home for a few weeks. Fate has treated him more kindly, though, as he's in town directing a major feature film. In her effort to win back her lost love, Grace attempts a series of edits in her own life, failing both awkwardly and charmingly. Simses (The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Café, 2013) gives readers a protagonist they can simultaneously root for and cringe over as they read about Grace's antics. Most squirmworthy is a scene in which Grace bumbles through a TV news interview about the bike shop where she's temporarily employed, clumsily suggesting it would be lost without her. Despite her many social gaffes, Grace has three eligible bachelors pursuing her, and it's no surprise which one she ultimately chooses. Despite the lack of suspense, the story has real heart and emotional grit, primarily because of the rich and layered subplot about Grace's sister's fatal auto accident as a teen. After 17 years, Grace still blames herself and would love nothing more than a rewrite of that fateful night. Alas, there is no red pen for her greatest mistake. In this sweet and heartfelt story, Simses provides a valuable lesson in the futility of striving for an error-free book of life. A lovely read.(Kirkus Reviews, April 1, 2016)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10484337
Cataloging source
BTCTA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Simses, Mary
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3619.I5667
LC item number
R85 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Self-realization in women
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Connecticut
  • Grammarians
  • First loves
  • Teachers
Target audience
adult
Label
The rules of love & grammar : a novel, Mary Simses
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
368 pages
Isbn
9780316382069
Lccn
2015958956
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 921166505
  • (OCoLC)921166505
Label
The rules of love & grammar : a novel, Mary Simses
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
368 pages
Isbn
9780316382069
Lccn
2015958956
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 921166505
  • (OCoLC)921166505

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...