Coverart for item
The Resource The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit, by Michael Finkel, (text large print)

The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit, by Michael Finkel, (text large print)

Label
The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
Title
The stranger in the woods
Title remainder
the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
Statement of responsibility
by Michael Finkel
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description
Member of
Biography type
individual biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Finkel, Michael
Dewey number
  • 974.1/22092
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
CT9991.K65
LC item number
F56 2017b
Literary form
non fiction
Series statement
Thorndike Press large print biographies and memoirs
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Knight, Christopher Thomas
  • Hermits
  • Recluses
  • Thieves
  • Smithfield Region (Me.)
  • Survival
  • Solitude
Target audience
adult
Label
The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit, by Michael Finkel, (text large print)
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
283 pages
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781410497482
Lccn
2016057972
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
large print
System control number
  • 964504535
  • (OCoLC)964504535
Label
The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit, by Michael Finkel, (text large print)
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
283 pages
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781410497482
Lccn
2016057972
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
large print
System control number
  • 964504535
  • (OCoLC)964504535

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...