Coverart for item
The Resource The unforgotten : a novel, Laura Powell

The unforgotten : a novel, Laura Powell

Label
The unforgotten : a novel
Title
The unforgotten
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Laura Powell
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this haunting debut novel "with a slight Broadchurch feel" (Sunday Herald) explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets. It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother. But Betty's world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London's press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by one of the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher--and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her. The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is with impropriety and even menace. And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives--and the life of an innocent man--forever. With narratives that shift from 1956 to the present day and back, The Unforgotten is a mesmerizing and eerie portrayal of two people bound to each other by a secret that has the power to shape, and destroy, lives"--
Has edition
Summary
A teen who has never left her mid-20th-century Cornish fishing village or ventured far from the ramshackle boarding house run by her mercurial mother finds her world upended by a string of brutal murders that bring droves of London reporters to the village, including an alluring man twice her age with whom she engages in a controversial relationship
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10619966
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Powell, Laura
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6116.O947
LC item number
U54 2018
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Life change events
Target audience
adult
Label
The unforgotten : a novel, Laura Powell
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"Originally published in Scotland in 2016." -- Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
Extent
291 pages
Isbn
9781501181221
Lccn
2017031033
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 989963805
  • (OCoLC)989963805
Label
The unforgotten : a novel, Laura Powell
Publication
Note
"Originally published in Scotland in 2016." -- Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
Extent
291 pages
Isbn
9781501181221
Lccn
2017031033
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 989963805
  • (OCoLC)989963805

Library Locations

    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...