Coverart for item
The Resource Time flies, Claire Cook

Time flies, Claire Cook

Label
Time flies
Title
Time flies
Statement of responsibility
Claire Cook
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A recently separated woman faces her highway driving phobia and takes a road trip with her best friend to their high school reunion
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • Time Flies is a spunky, lighthearted road trip down memory lane as two best friends reunite for their high-school reunion and challenge their fears. Years ago, Melanie left her friends and native New England to follow her husband to Atlanta, uprooting their two young sons. Now at midlife, she’s a recently separated, self-employed metal sculptor with a fear of highways, sawing her marriage bed into disposable chunks and bending the springs into art. When her best friend urges her to return home for their class reunion, Melanie’s driving phobia kicks in, and she begs off. But it’s hard to resist when an old crush she can barely remember lures her with his flirtatious e-mails. So she takes the plunge. What follows is a lot of reminiscing to the soundtrack of the good old days when the BFs finally meet up for their driving adventure. The banter is a lot of fun, and the characters’ realization of what is important is certain to make readers yearn for reconnections of their own. Another delightful beach read from the author of Wallflower in Bloom (2012). -- Holcomb, Diane (Reviewed 05-01-2013) (Booklist, vol 109, number 17, p68)
  • Cook (Must Love Dogs ) returns (after Wallflower in Bloom ) with a funny, bittersweet new novel. Melanie is a metal artist in Atlanta struggling to get her sculptures acknowledged. One of her pieces has just been accepted into a juried art show and sold to a local chef. Melanie, who has recently separated from her husband, Kurt, is also dealing with her new life as a single, middle-aged woman. A potential beau seems to be in a similar place in life, but she's not sure where she stands with him. Meanwhile, her best friend, BJ, pesters her to return to Massachusetts for their high school reunion. Despite the crippling phobia of highways she has recently developed, Melanie is finally convinced to go when an old high school flame starts sending her flirty emails. Melanie's road trip with BJ to the reunion forces her to acknowledge her fear, come to terms with her past, and find a direction for her future. VERDICT Fans of Elizabeth Buchan and Mary Kay Andrews will enjoy Cook's strong characters and the sense of humor that infuses her latest heartwarming novel.— Kristen Stewart, Pearland Lib., Brazoria Cty. Lib. System, TX --Kristen Stewart (Reviewed April 15, 2013) (Library Journal, vol 138, issue 17, p73)
  • The latest novel from Cook (Wallflower in Bloom, 2012, etc.). When Melanie's husband, Kurt, surprises her by packing up their family, including two young sons, to move from Boston to Atlanta, she copes by throwing herself into metal sculpture, an idea inspired by the garage full of welding equipment left by the previous owners of their new home. When Kurt later leaves her for another woman, the artwork saves her sanity and attracts the attention of the charming restaurateur Ted Brody. By this time, the two boys are grown and gone and maintain no contact with their father, but they check in on their mom regularly. In the midst of these events, her best friend from high school, B.J., is nagging her to come North for the upcoming high school reunion. Melanie doesn't want to, until she starts getting emails from a former boyfriend, now divorced, who is hoping to see her there. Melanie flies to Boston, where she sees old friends and her sister for the first time in many years. While there, she shares driving duties with B.J, which requires confronting her crippling fear of highways. When Kurt turns up at the reunion (sans other woman), Melanie considers her options, which now include the possibility of a relationship with Ted, who has a laugh she comes to love. After accompanying Melanie and B.J on their hysterical road trip, readers will feel like they've made friends for life. Women will like this book.(Kirkus Reviews, March 15, 2013)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10181733
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1955-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cook, Claire
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3553.O55317
LC item number
T56 2013
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Separated women
  • Female friendship
  • Reunions
  • Self-realization in women
Target audience
adult
Label
Time flies, Claire Cook
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"A Touchstone book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Touchstone hardcover edition.
Extent
303 pages
Isbn
9781451673678
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2012045269
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 823387275
  • (OCoLC)823387275
Label
Time flies, Claire Cook
Publication
Note
"A Touchstone book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Touchstone hardcover edition.
Extent
303 pages
Isbn
9781451673678
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2012045269
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 823387275
  • (OCoLC)823387275

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...