Coverart for item
The Resource We come to our senses : stories, Odie Lindsey

We come to our senses : stories, Odie Lindsey

Label
We come to our senses : stories
Title
We come to our senses
Title remainder
stories
Statement of responsibility
Odie Lindsey
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story "Evie M." is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in "We Come to Our Senses," a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in "Colleen" a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in "11/19/98" a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story "Hers" is about the sexual politics of a combat zone" --
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10518877
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lindsey, Odie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3612.I53568
LC item number
A6 2016
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Veterans
  • Southern States
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
stories
Label
We come to our senses : stories, Odie Lindsey
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Evie M. -- Darla -- So bored in Nashville -- Chicks -- Clean -- They -- Bird (on back) -- In the alley that runs behind my rotted clapboard apartment house there are sick cats -- Colleen -- 11/19/98 -- Pickle -- Wall -- We come to our senses -- D. Garcia brings the war -- Hers
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
208 pages
Isbn
9780393249606
Lccn
2016008755
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 921868902
  • (OCoLC)921868902
Label
We come to our senses : stories, Odie Lindsey
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Evie M. -- Darla -- So bored in Nashville -- Chicks -- Clean -- They -- Bird (on back) -- In the alley that runs behind my rotted clapboard apartment house there are sick cats -- Colleen -- 11/19/98 -- Pickle -- Wall -- We come to our senses -- D. Garcia brings the war -- Hers
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
208 pages
Isbn
9780393249606
Lccn
2016008755
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • 921868902
  • (OCoLC)921868902

Library Locations

    • Williamsburg LibraryBorrow it
      515 Scotland Street, Williamsburg, VA, 23185, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...