Coverart for item
The Resource We were strangers once, Betsy Carter, (text large print)

We were strangers once, Betsy Carter, (text large print)

Label
We were strangers once
Title
We were strangers once
Statement of responsibility
Betsy Carter
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind. They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home"--Provided by publisher
Summary
"For readers of The Nightingale and, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City. On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind. They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home. With her uncanny ability to create indelible characters in unforgettable circumstances, Betsy Carter has crafted a gorgeous novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt adrift and longed for home"--
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10571424
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1945-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Carter, Betsy
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3603.A7768
LC item number
W4 2018
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Thorndike Press large print reviewers' choice
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Jews
  • Jewish families
  • Friendship
  • Immigrants
  • Jews
  • Jewish fiction
Target audience
adult
Label
We were strangers once, Betsy Carter, (text large print)
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Thorndike Press large print reviewers' choice
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
467 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432848699
Lccn
2017050726
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
large print
System control number
  • on1008774937
  • (OCoLC)1008774937
Label
We were strangers once, Betsy Carter, (text large print)
Publication
Copyright
Note
Thorndike Press large print reviewers' choice
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
467 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432848699
Lccn
2017050726
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
large print
System control number
  • on1008774937
  • (OCoLC)1008774937

Library Locations

    • James City County LibraryBorrow it
      7770 Croaker Road, Williamsburg, VA, 23188, US
      37.377573 -76.770995
Processing Feedback ...